What is your role?

I am MFL Mentoring’s Social Media and Digital Content Officer. I design, create and share everything that you see on all our social media platforms, and also help the team out with their graphic design needs! I joined MFL Mentoring in May 2023 after running my own online ceramics business for three years.

Tell us a bit about yourself

I was born and raised on a farm in the North East of South Africa, in a province called Mpumalanga (it means the place were the sun rises” in Swazi, Xhosa, Ndebele and Zulu languages). My mum is Afrikaans speaking South African and my dad French speaking Belgian and we all communicated in English! South Africa has eleven official languages (!!) so I have always been conscious of how important it is to be able to communicate with people who speak a different language to you.

I eventually went to university to study Visual Communication, as I wanted to combine my love for language and communication with my passion for design and creativity. After finishing my studies in South Africa, I moved to Liverpool, where I worked for National Museums Liverpool alongside freelancing as a Scientific Graphic Designer. During lockdown I started my online ceramics business, where I used social media as my main tool for selling and promoting my business. Toward the end of 2021 I moved to Cardiff and I am lucky enough to have found and joined the wonderful team at MFL mentoring!

Outside of work I love to go camping in the Spring/Summer (I am still very much NOT keen on Northern Hemisphere winters), gardening and finding cool brunch spots to go to with my partner and friends. If you want to bribe me you can buy me a cheese platter.

What do you enjoy most about the project?

The thing that I love most about the project is its approach to language learning. It takes the pressure off of being perfectly fluent and focuses on the benefits of being able to communicate in different languages, no matter what level you are at. It really makes language learning feel so much more accessible.